Introduction to Registration Options
This section is used to configure the settings related to registration form and process.This is one of the more important and advanced settings sections in UPME. So it’s mandatory to know the meaning and functionality of each of the settings in this section to make most out of UPME. Following screenshot previews the Registration Options screen with all the default values.
Now we are going to look at each setting and functionality in detail.
User Selected Passwords
This setting is used to enable/disable user selected passwords. By default, this setting is enabled and allows users to set passwords during registration. Disabling the setting will create random password for users during registration.
Automatic Login After Registration
This setting is used to automatically logging the user after the registration process is completed. By default, this setting is disabled and users have to manually login using username and password. If enabled, users will be logged automatically after registration and redirected to the page defined in Redirect After Registration setting. This setting is only available when the User Selected Passwords setting is set to enabled.
User Profile Approvals
This setting allows you to enable profile approvals for new user registrations. By default, this setting is disabled and new users are not required to get the account approved before login. If enabled, users must be approved by admin before login. This setting is only available when User Selected Passwords is enabled and Automatic Login After Registration settings is set to disabled. Once approvals are enabled, user will get an email mentioning that account is pending approval. Also admin will get a notification about the pending profile. Once admin approves the profile from backend user list, user will get an email allowing them to login. Profiles in pending approval status are not displayed in member list.
This setting allows you to make users verify their email address before allowing them to login. By default, this setting is disabled and new users are not required to get the email confirmed before login. If enabled, users must confirm their account by clicking the email confirmation link sent to them on new user registration. This setting is only available when User Selected Passwords and Automatic Login After Registration settings are set to enabled. Once user confirms the email account, they will be allowed to login.Profiles in pending email confirmation status are not displayed in member list.
Terms and Conditions
This setting allows you to use Terms and Conditions agreement on new user registration. By default, this setting is disabled and Terms and Conditions are not available. If enabled, users are required to read and agree to the Terms and Conditions before completing the registration. Terms and conditions can be displayed inside the registration page or in an external link.This setting is only available when Automatic Login After Registration setting is set to enabled. Follwoing screenshot preview the Terms and Conditions checkbox on the registration form and the validation messages.
This setting is used to select the Captcha plugin to prevent spam registrations and login. By default, this setting is set to None and hence no captcha will be used. You can select which captcha plugin you want to use on the registration form. Funcaptcha requires the Funcaptcha plugin, however reCaptcha is built into UPME and requires no additional plugin to be installed.You can enable or disable captcha with shortcode options:
[[upme_registration captcha=yes]] or
[[upme_registration captcha=no]].If you are using a captcha that requires a plugin, you must install and activate the selected captcha plugin. Some captcha plugins require you to register a free account with them, including FunCaptcha. Click here for all the available captcha plugins and guide to using them.
CAPTCHA Field Label
This setting is used to specify the label used for the captcha field. By default, it will be set to Captcha.
Register success message
This settings is used to specify the message to be displayed after a successfull registration. Default message is Registration successful. Please check your email. Following screenshot previews how registration successful message is displayed to the users.
Text/HTML below the Register Success message.
This setting is used to display a custom message to users below the registration success message. This is usefull for letting users know the steps to follow after the registration. Default message is empty for this setting. Following screenshot previews how custom message is shown after the registration.
Select User Role at Registration
This setting is used to enable user role selection in registration. By default, this setting is disabled and users will be registered based on the New User Default Role setting in WordPress General Settings section.If enabled, users will be able to select their user role at registration. If you do not understand what this means, leave this option unchecked.
Select Role Label
This setting defines the field label for the user role selection field in registration. Default value for this setting is Select Role. You can customize this setting to show custom label based on how user roles are identified in your application. This setting is only available when Select User Role at Registration is set to enabled.
Choose User Roles for Registration
This setting defines the available user roles for selection inside the registration form. By default, it will contain the default user role specified in WordPress General Settings section. This setting is only available when Select User Role at Registration is set to enabled. Selected user roles will be available for users to choose at registration. All user roles except administrator will be available for selection. You have to use this setting carefully as allowing user roles with higher permissions can create security concerns for your site. Following screenshot previews how user role selection is displayed on registration.
This setting allows you to choose default country for UPME country field. You can enable country field from the Predefined Lists for select dropdown fields. Default value is set to United Status
Password Strength Level
This setting defined the strength level for passwords in user registration and edit profile. By default, this setting is disabled and user can set any type of valid password. You have 3 other options called Weak, Medium, Strong. Once you choose one of these values, users will not be able to proceed without providing a password that matches the defined strength level. Following screenshot previews how error message is displayed when strength is not matched.